Super Eagles coach, Gernot Rohr, has recalled the duo of captain, John Obi Mikel, and Kelechi Iheanacho to the team ahead next month’s AFCON 2019 tournament scheduled to take place in Egypt.

Mikel and Iheanacho made the provisional list of 23 players as Rohr revealed his preliminary 25-man squad, with six players placed on standby for Africa’s biggest football showpiece.

It would be recalled that Middlesbrough star, Mikel, last played for the Super Eagles at the 2018 FIFA World Cup, when
he captained the team to a group stage exist in Russia.

However, after a clear-the-air talk with Super Eagles Coach, Rohr, who visited England recently where he went on his knees while appealing to the midfielder to represent his fatherland, the ex Chelsea player has now made a return in the national team ahead of Africa’s flagship competition.

Also making a return to the team is Leicester City fringe player, Iheanacho, who lost his place in the team following a poor season at his English Premier League club.

Others called up by Rohr include regulars like Iheanacho’s City mate Wilfred Ndidi, Oghenekaro Etebo, World Cup hero, Ahmed Musa, John Ogu and Alex Iwobi.

Leading the standby list are Russian born Bryan Idowu, Egypt based Junior Ajayi and Flying Eagles stars, Ikouwem Utin and Valentine Ozornwafor.

Here are the Full Squad:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Katsina United); Daniel Akp

eyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey); William
Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth
Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC adeborn 07, Germany); Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England)

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Middlesbrough FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John
Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassar FC, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi SC, Belgium); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua, China); Alexander Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjyland, Denmark); Kelechi Iheanacho
(Leicester City, England); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain)

Six On Standby: Theophilus Afelokhai (Enyimba FC); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia); Ikouwem Utin (Enyimba FC); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Setubal, Portugal); Junior Ajayi (Al Ahly, Egypt); Valentine Ozornwafor (Enyimba FC)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here